Can you see the kink at the end of this cannula?

bentcannulaYeah, me neither. It’s hardly detectable, but it is there. The kink in the last millimeter of this infusion set really put a kink in my day.

Last week, I started on the Minimed Paradigm 722 after four years on the Cozmo (long story short: I love my Cozmo, but it’s not available where I currently live outside of the USA, so I had to switch pump brands. For a thorough review and ideas on how to Cozmofy a Minimed pump, check back next week!).

A new pump gave me an excuse to try out some new infusion sets. I have been faithful to the long Comfort (same as Silhouette), manually inserted. At first, I used it out of ignorance (no one ever told me that there was more than one type of infusion set). Then because I am a creature of habit.

As it turns out, I have a pretty significant amount of scar tissue (OK, really how is an insulin pumper to know how much scare tissue is “normal”– yes I’m covered is polka dots, but I thought we all were). My doctor and pump rep told me it was time to try a new infusion set that I would wear on my stomach (I hated wearing Comfort/Silhouettes on my stomach). So I was sent home with a bunch of 9mm Quick Sets.

Being a creature of habit, I was skeptical. Rightfully so.

Even using that fancy device (Serter), I seem to keep getting bent cannulas. The bend is barely visible to the naked eye, but my blood sugars know when it’s there. Last week’s basal testing revealed that my morning basals are spot on (can’t say the same for the rest of the day) and I meticulously counted my carbsĀ  or breakfast and bolused 30 minutes before eating. So I was pretty disappointed by the after breakfast high blood sugar that stubbornly refused to come down. After a couple hours of troubleshooting, I removed the infusion set and can only figure that THAT was the problem.

How many people can say that their morning was ruined by a 1mm bend at the end of a 9mm plastic tube? I can. Just a reminder that little things make a BIG difference!

