Nobody likes having a cold.

Me neither.

But diabetes makes dealing with colds even less fun. When I get a bad cold, it seems that there is nothing that I can do to control my blood sugar. My body is resistant to insulin and I am less likely to feel the lows. So I can never seem to find the right amount of insulin for my virus-filled body.

So I coast in the 200’s, which makes it hard for my body to fight the infection, which gives me blood sugars in the 200’s, which makes it hard for my body to fight the infection, which gives me blood sugars in the 200’s, which makes it hard for my body to fight the infection, which gives me blood sugars in the 200’s, which makes it hard for my body to fight the infection, which gives me blood sugars in the 200’s, … (you get the idea).

When I was diagnosed with diabetes, they told me to develop a sick day plan to prepare for times like this. Five years later, I’m still trying to figure out what the secret could be…

The current plan: TEST OFTEN and try to find a way out the the vicious cycle.

Any better ideas?

